The Government and the Political System Economic Overview Geography/Topography CultureA Brief History on Kenya National Flag/Anthem Climate Currency Media Location and Maps The Government Ministries Links

The Government Ministries

Current Government Portfolios/Ministries

1. Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government
Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Dr. Fred Matiang'i
Chief Administrative Secretary: Patrick Ntutu
Principal Secretary: Eng. Karanja Kibicho (Interior)
Principal Secretary: Maj.Gen.(Rtd) Gordon Kihalangwa (Immigration, Border Control & Registration of Persons)
Principal Secretary: Alfred Cheruiyot (Correctional Services)

2. Ministry of Devolution and ASAL Areas
Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Eugene Wamalwa
Chief Administrative Secretary: Hussein Dado
Principal Secretary: Nelson Marwa (Devolution)
Principal Secretary: Michael Powon (ASAL)

3. The National Treasury and Ministry of Planning
Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Henry K. Rotich
Chief Administrative Secretary: Nelson Gaichuhie
Principal Secretary: Dr. Kamau Thugge (Treasury)
Principal Secretary: Julius Muia (Planning)

4. Ministry of Defence
Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Amb. Raychelle Awour Omamo
Chief Administrative Secretary:
Principal Secretary: Torome Saitoti

5. Ministry of Foreign Affairs & International Trade
Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Amb. Dr. Monica Juma
Chief Administrative Secretary: Ababu Namwamba
Principal Secretary: Amb. Macharia Kamau (Foreign Affairs)
Principal Secretary: Dr Chris Kiptoo (International Trade)

6. Ministry of Education
Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Amb. Amina Mohamed 
Chief Administrative Secretary: Hon. Simon Kachapin
Principal Secretary: Dr. Belio Kipsang (Early learning & Basic Education)
Principal Secretary: Prof. Japheth Micheni (University Education & Research)
Principal Secretary: Zainab Hussein (Post Training & Skills Development)

7. Ministry of Health
Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Sicily Kanini Kariuki 
Chief Administrative Secretary: Rashid Aman
Principal Secretary: Peter Tum

8. Ministry of Transport and Infrastructure Development
Cabinet Secretary: Hon. James Macharia
Chief Administrative Secretary: Mr.Chris Obure
Principal Secretary: Paul Maringa (Transport)
Principal Secretary: Julius Korir (Infrastructure)
Principal Secretary: Nancy Karigithu (Shipping & Maritime)

9. Ministry of Information, Communication and Technology
Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Joe Mucheru 
Chief Administrative Secretary:
Principal Secretary: Mr. Jerom Ochieng’

10. Ministry of Environment and Forestry
Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Keriako Tobiko 
Chief Administrative Secretary: Mohamed Ibrahim Elmi
Principal Secretary: Mr. Charles Sunkuli

11. Ministry of Lands
Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Farida Karoney 
Chief Administrative Secretary: Gideon Mung’aro
Principal Secretary: Nicholas Muraguri

12. Ministry of Sports and Heritage
Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Rashid Achesa Mohammed 
Chief Administrative Secretary: Hassan Noor Hassan
Principal Secretary: Peter Kaberia (Sports)
Principal Secretary: Josphetta Mukobe (Heritage)

13. Ministry of Labour and Social Protection
Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Ukur Yattani
Chief Administrative Secretary: Abdul Bahari
Principal Secretary: Ms. Susan Mochache (Social Protection Pension & Senior Citizens Affairs)

14. Ministry of Energy
Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Charles Keter
Chief Administrative Secretary: Colleta Suda
Principal Secretary: Colleta Suda (Renewal Energy)
Principal Secretary: Eng. Joseph Njoroge (Energy)

15. Ministry of Agriculture and Irrigation
Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Mwangi Kiunjuri 
Chief Administrative Secretary: Dr Andrew K Tuimur
Principal Secretary: Harry Kimutai (Livestock)
Principal Secretary: Mr. Richard Lesiyampe (Crop Development)
Principal Secretary: Hamadi Boga (Agriculture Research)
Principal Secretary: (Fisheries)
Principal Secretary: Prof. Fred K. Sigor (Irrigation)

16. Ministry of Industrialization and Enterprise Development
Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Adan Abdulla, Mohamed
Chief Administrative Secretary:
Principal Secretary: Betty Maina (Industrialization)
Principal Secretary: (Enterprise Development)

17. Ministry of Public Service, Youth & Gender Affairs 
Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Prof. Margaret Kobia
Chief Administrative Secretary: Rachel Shebesh
Principal Secretary: Ms. Lilian Omollo (Public Service & Youth)
Principal Secretary: Safina Kwekwe (Gender Affairs)

18. Ministry of Tourism and Wildlife 
Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Najib Balala 
Chief Administrative Secretary:
Principal Secretary: (Tourism)
Principal Secretary: Margaret Mwakema (Wildlife)

19. Ministry of Petroleum and Mining
Cabinet Secretary: Hon. John Munyes 
Chief Administrative Secretary: Eng. John Mosonik
Principal Secretary: Andrew Kamau Ng’ang’a (Petroleum)
Principal Secretary: John Murangi Omenge (Mining)

20. Ministry of Water and Sanitation
Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Simon Chelugui
Chief Administrative Secretary: Winnie Guchu
Principal Secretary:

21. Ministry of East African Community and Northern Corridor Development
Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Peter Munya
Chief Administrative Secretary: Ken Obura
Principal Secretary: Susan Komen

Back to the top