[6th July 2015]


(L to R: Sen. James Orengo; Sen. S. Wako; Amb. S. K. Maina; Hon. Speaker Ekwee Ethuro; Sen. Chiaba, Abu Mohamed; Sen. Kiraitu Murungi; Sen. Kipchumba Murkomen)

The Speaker of the Senate of the Republic of Kenya Hon. David Ekwee Ethuro arrived in Tokyo on Sunday, 28th June 2015 on an official visit to Japan. The Speaker, who was received by H.E. Ambassador S. K. Maina is visiting Japan as Chairman of the Senate's Liaison Committee.

The Liaison Committee of the Senate is made up of all the Chairs of the various Standing and Sessional Committee of the Senate and has the responsibility to guide and co-ordinate their operations, policies and mandates including their budgets and programmes, as well as guiding them on any matter including their mandates.

In this connection, the visit to Japan by the Liaison Committee of the Senate is aimed at enhancing parliamentary diplomacy between the two countries. The delegation will explore opportunities for establishing and strengthening Parliamentary Friendship Association as well as study the Japanese bicameral parliamentary model to identify opportunities for strengthening Kenya's bicameral legislature. In particular, the Committee is seeking to learn valuable lessons from Japan's experience in the implementation of the prefecture (equivalent to county) system of local governance.

At the start of their visit, the Senate Committee paid a courtesy call on H.E. the Ambassador of the Republic of Kenya to Japan Mr. S.K. Maina. During their cordial discussions, the Speaker expressed satisfaction with the warm and cordial relations that exist between Kenya and Japan. He called on the Embassy to work hard to increase the number of Japanese tourists who visit Kenya each year and likewise boost trade ties between the two Countries.

The Speaker's delegation included the following members of the Liaison Committee of the Senate:

1. Sen. Amos S. Wako, MP Chairman/Standing Committee on Legal Affairs and Human Rights
2. Sen. James Orengo, MP Chairman/Sessional Committee on Implementation
3. Sen. Kiraitu Murungi Chairman, Standing Commission on Agriculture, Fisheries and Livestock
4. Sen. Chiaba, Abu Mohamed Abu Chairman, Standing Committee on Roads and Transportation
5. Sen. Kipchumba Murkomen, MP Chairman, Sessional Committee on Devolved Government

Back to the top